Private Browsing doesn't remove sessionStore data when user set "Never remember history"

RESOLVED INVALID

Status

()

Firefox
Private Browsing
--
major
RESOLVED INVALID
6 years ago
6 years ago

People

(Reporter: tabmix.onemen, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

6 years ago
when user set "Never remember history" from Options > Privacy, the data that was collected by sessionStroe up to this point is not remove.
sessionStore save this data to disk to the file sessionstore.js at the end of the session.
this file with the private data will not remove from the disk as long as Firefox is in auto-started private browsing.

Step to reproduce: 
Tested on clean profile
1. start Firefox on normal browsing
2. make sure browser.startup.page is 3
3. open few tabs.
4. in Options > Privacy set history to "Never remember history"
5. Exit Firefox

Result:
open the profile folder, the file sessionstore.js contain your data from the last session

Comment 1

6 years ago
Why should we remove that information?  We stop recording new information, which is what the user has asked for.
(Reporter)

Comment 2

6 years ago
from the moment user set "Never remember history" nothing not suppose to save on the disk.
sessionStore saves this data after "Never remember history" already set , at the end of the session.

anyhow the data itself is useless since when in auto-started private browsing sessionStore doesn't load it. the best thing is not save it at all

Comment 3

6 years ago
(In reply to comment #2)
> from the moment user set "Never remember history" nothing not suppose to save
> on the disk.
> sessionStore saves this data after "Never remember history" already set , at
> the end of the session.

Do you see information from where you browsed after turning on "Never remember history" in that file?
(Reporter)

Comment 4

6 years ago
Yes
all open tabs closed tabs and closed windows from the session before "Never remember history" was set is kept is the file sessionStore.js

Comment 5

6 years ago
Then that's fine.  That file will be used if the user changes their mind in the future to restore their session.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 6 years ago
Resolution: --- → INVALID
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.