If you think a bug might affect users in the 57 release, please set the correct tracking and status flags for Release Management.

Warn users if they are about to lose typed in data

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 873637

Status

support.mozilla.org
General
P3
normal
RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 873637
5 years ago
4 years ago

People

(Reporter: atopal, Unassigned)

Tracking

unspecified
Future

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: u=user c=general p= s=)

(Reporter)

Description

5 years ago
We should let people know when leaving the current page will trash their input. 

There are number of places where that can happen:

1. In the KB, when editing an article and going back in history
2. In the KB, when editing both, description and content. Clicking either button will only save one of those two parts
3. In the AAQ process when asking a question and going back in history
4. In the support forums when replying to a question and going back in history
5. In the KB/discussion forums when creating a thread or replying to a thread and going back in history.

I'm not so sure about the technology to warn people, onbeforeunload might be an option. I don't think we need a custom message.

The only exception is case 2, we probably have to come up with a different solution for that. Ideas welcome.
2012Q4 is in the past. Moving on to the future!
Target Milestone: 2012Q4 → Future
(Reporter)

Updated

4 years ago
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 4 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 873637
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.