When selecting the "X" rather than "Cancel" during the "Save" prompt, a .part file will be left behind in the download folder until the browser is closed. When you press the "Cancel" button, it will correctly cancel without leaving a .part file in the downloads folder. I think the behavior is the same as both basically mean "cancel" at that point (in my opinion) If pressing the "X" just dismisses the window, we need a way to retrieve it again. The only way to receive the "Save" prompt once again is to start downloading something again. Steps to reproduce the issue: 1) Open Firefox Metro 2) Select something to download from any website (I used VLC in this case) 3) When you are prompted to "Save" the file, select the "X" 4) Go into your download folder and you'll notice a .part file that will not be removed until the browser is closed. If you do the same thing but select "Cancel", the .part file will be removed Current Behavior: - Selecting the "X" during the "Save" prompt will leave behind a .part file until the browser is closed Expected Behavior: - Shouldn't be leaving any files away as the user basically cancelled the download Used the following build: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/nightly/2013-10-16-03-02-02-mozilla-central/
Wanted to quickly add that the .part file doesn't clear all the time, users could end up with a lot of .part files in the download directory for cancelled downloads.
Mass close of bugs in obsolete product https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1350354