Bug 1938430 Comment 0 Edit History

Note: The actual edited comment in the bug view page will always show the original commenter’s name and original timestamp.

Event category: tabgroup
Event name: delete
Description: Recorded when the user deletes a tab group

I believe the only way for a user to delete a tab group right now is by using the tab group context menu UI panel and choosing to delete the group explicitly. The browser doesn't currently delete tab groups on the user's behalf for any reason.
Event category: tabgroup
Event name: delete
Description: Recorded when the user deletes a tab group
Additional data:
- `id` (string): group ID of the tab group being deleted
- `source` (string): `tab_overflow` if the user right-clicked a group in the tab overflow menu and chose "Delete group"; `tab_group` if the user right-clicked a tab group's label and chose "Delete group"

When the user performs "delete group" on an open tab group, the tab group becomes closed. The closed tab group is still visible in "recently closed tabs" and the tab overflow menu. When the user performs "delete group" on a closed tab group, the closed group is forgotten by session state and is no longer present in the tab overflow menu. The meaning of "delete" is somewhat different in these cases.

The session store forgets about closed groups during its daily cleanup. This is equivalent to "delete group" but it's automated and not driven by user intent. This bug will not instrument the automated cleanup.

Back to Bug 1938430 Comment 0