Open Bug 1016771 Opened 6 years ago Updated 5 years ago

email account configuration has misleading description which can lead to loss of emails

Categories

(SeaMonkey :: MailNews: Account Configuration, defect, major)

SeaMonkey 2.25 Branch
x86
Linux
defect
Not set
major

Tracking

(Not tracked)

UNCONFIRMED

People

(Reporter: andr55, Unassigned)

Details

The problem is a misleading description.
(note my version of Seamonkey is in french, so english may be approximate)

In email module
. Under Edit / Account preferences
.. on the server parametre page (for a POP3 account)
... There is a option : "Leave messages on the server"
.... And a sub-option : "Until I delete them"

Unfortunately, if one deletes a message on the computer,
it also deletes the message on the server.

So the sub-option should read : "Until I delete them ON THIS COMPUTER"

Note that this option had been checked on all my accounts, as it seemed to indicate "until I delete them on the server".
Normally I keep all messages (except spam), so this was not previously noticed.

What happened :
1) For some reason, all the messages still on my email server were downloaded a second time, so I had close to a thousand duplicate messages on my computer
2) I proceeded to delete the duplicate messages.
3) After deleting the duplicates on my computer, I accessed my email account via the web.
There were still at least many hundreds of emails on the server.
The server was apparently quite slow deleting them.
4) Because of a display problem (likely caused by the delete process on the server), I disconnected and reconnected
5) I discovered that all but a few emails had been deleted on the server.

Since users may download emails on a different computer first, and then delete them, this misleading description can be very dangerous, leading to losing important emails.
Because of this I classify this as having "major" severity.
(Fortunately it is easily fixed.)

To reiterate :
"Until I delete them"
(which seems to indicate ON THE SERVER)
should read
"Until I delete them ON MY COMPUTER"
Summary: email account configuration has misleading and dangerous description → email account configuration has misleading description which can lead to loss of emails
Ping ?
This very misleading description in
"menu / account preferences / server parameters"
option "leave messages on the server" / "until I delete them"

should read "until I delete them ON THIS COMPUTER"
meaning "delete a message on the server if I delete it on this computer"

since it seems to imply "until I delete them on the server".

This misunderstanding could result in losing important emails for those temporarily accessing their email on a secondary computer.
Still a problem in sm 2.30
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.