w98 build 2001-10-15-05-0.9.4 1. Install build (if you have more than one profile, delete all but one) 2. Click the x in the upper right hand corner of the browser 3. A dialog will appear letting the user know that the browser will continue to run in memory 4. Uncheck the Don't show me this message again 5. Click ok 6. Start the browser again 7. Click the x in the upper right hand corner of the browser Expected Results: The dialog should appear again Actual Results: No dialog Added note: if you right click the NS in sys tray and exit NS and start over, the dialog will appear again
I'm not sure we should show this dialog each and every time the last window closes. Maybe it should re-show it if some amount of time has elapsed?
Target Milestone: --- → mozilla0.9.6
In a way, I like that the dialog does not appear all the time. But the checkbox message is misleading. I like that the dialog appears again if I completely exit the browser and re-enable Quick Launch upon the following launch.
This was discussed in a bugscape bug; please see the discussion there.
Blake, I can't find that bug. You wouldn't happen to remember the bug number? No, didn't think so. How about some more detail about the bug; e.g., who it was assigned to, something in the summary that might help me spot it? I tried searching for "turbo" and "quick" in the summary. Can you summarize the thinking that lead to the "one warning per session" strategy? I can see where that might get annoying (a dialog after you close every window), but it seems like people might forget when it's been, say, 3 weeks since they saw the dialog (that's about how long I go between restarts on my Win2K system). I have a patch for this but I'm not confident about whether it should be fixed until a concensus emerges about what the right thing to do is. It seem that a conscious decision was made to make it work the way it does, and I'd like to understand that before undoing that decision.
Created attachment 55322 [details] [diff] [review] Shows the dialog each time the last window closes
Moving out till 0.9.7. Still waiting on input as to why it works the way it does.
Target Milestone: mozilla0.9.6 → mozilla0.9.7
OK, we need to reset on this bug. With recent changes to make turbo mode work in multiple profile scenarios (BTW, great work, Conrad), this warning dialog may no longer be necessary. Should it be removed entirely, now? If not, can anybody shed light on why it currently shows only once per "session" (rather than each time the last window is closed)? I really want to close this bug out; I'm just not sure how. If we need to defer the decision on whether to have the dialog at all, can we still make a decision as to whether it should show each time the last window closes?
The following is an email I got from Blake, and my response: >I believe the decision (in the bugscape bug that I'd swear exists but seems to >have disappeared) was to keep the dialog around to inform users how to >completely exit, but of course to remove the warning text about sensitive >information. If I recall correctly, the reason that we were considering not >showing the dialog every time was because we assumed that users weren't so >stupid that they continuously needed to be reminded how to completely shut >down :-) OK, I think I see, now. When it's just a "by the way, you can quit completely by using the systray icon" sort of informational message, then it isn't so important that we keep it in the user's face. Once per session may be enough. >We agreed that, because this dialog was no longer a liability issue and a >warning to users, we didn't have to bother users with it every time they close >the last window. The counter to that is that the user can just check "Don't >show this window again". So it's up to you. I think it should have been everytime, so long as the user's session was exposed. That seems to no longer be the case. Conrad, can you confirm that? As to whether or not the "information" alert should show once, or each time, I think we should defer to UE. So I'll ping Marlon about that. >If you think we should go ahead and show it every time (personally I'd be >willing to leave it as it is), I'd be willing to sr it on the merits of the >code. I'll hold off pending response from Conrad (about whether the message can be toned down re: the security risks), and Marlon (about whether we should show one time or each time).
> I think it should have been everytime, so long as the user's session was > exposed. That seems to no longer be the case. Conrad, can you confirm that? Yes, since bug 86067 has been closed. So, I think that the message can be toned down.
So if quiting quicklaunch is the end of a session, i think we should really only show the dialog once: the first time a user closes the last window in the first session. so the, "show me only once" question should be *checked* by default. This will serve to inform users about the situation once, and will show them how to turn it off in the future. An image of the icon in systray might be useful to demonstrate how it's done.
OK, so it seems we've come full circle then (not that that's bad). One last question (for Marlon): When the user unchecks the "Don't show me this again" checkbox, *then* how often do we show the alert? Choices are the same (I think): the first time in each session the user closes the last window, or, each time the user closes the last window. BTW, the dialog has a picture of the systray icon where they will find the "Exit" menu choice (soon to be renamed "Exit Quick Launch", as I recall).
Much less important an issue so resetting target milestone.
Target Milestone: mozilla0.9.7 → mozilla1.0.1
This bug sounds like it's the flip side of bug 133552.
I'm sure that the new turbo mode introduced by the checkin for bug 98673 has fixed this as well. Therefore closing out as fixed. Please re-open if I'm wrong.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 16 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Testing results using commercial and mozilla trunk build (2002053104, single and multiple profiles) and commercial and mozilla branch (20020531, only single profiles) The dialog that comes up on closing is not checked by default and will continue to display at each shutdown of last window until user checks the box. This is what I would expect to happen and behavior is the same on all builds verifying
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Component: QuickLaunch (AKA turbo mode) → QuickLaunch (AKA turbo mode)
Product: Core → Core Graveyard
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.