Open Bug 1297533 Opened 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago

Update and clarify text under the "History" section of about:preferences#privacy

Categories

(Firefox :: Preferences, defect, P3)

51 Branch
defect

Tracking

()

Tracking Status
firefox51 --- affected

People

(Reporter: kjozwiak, Unassigned)

References

(Depends on 1 open bug)

Details

Attachments

(1 file)

Attached image issue.png
We should make the "don't remember history" alert under about:preferences#privacy more intuitive. When a user decides to never save history, the browser is placed into private browsing (PB) mode after restarting but doesn't use any of the UI to let the user know they're basically using PB. Because some features such as containers might be disabled under PB, this might confuse users.

Currently, the user will receive the following alert (see image attached):

* "Nightly must restart to enable this feature"

We should change the alert to something along the lines of:

* "Nightly must restart to enable this feature and place you into Private Browsing mode"
I'm turning this into a P3 tracking bug for updating and clarifying text under the "History" section of about:preferences#privacy. We should update the text AND create a SUMO "Learn More" page.
Depends on: 1278811
Priority: -- → P3
See Also: → 1278811
Summary: making the "dont remember history" alert under about:preferences#privacy more intuitive → Update and clarify text under the "History" section of about:preferences#privacy
Luke, this is for the History section in general, or just related to the "Clear History when Nightly/Firefox closes" section?
This History section in general; if this bug were to focus on a specific part it would be the "Never remember" and "Always use Private Browsing" section.
Should probably live in the preferences component :)
Component: Private Browsing → Preferences
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.