Closed Bug 1330992 Opened 3 years ago Closed 3 years ago

The permission status for Microphone isn't displayed after removing the permission from camera

Categories

(Firefox :: Site Identity, defect)

53 Branch
defect
Not set

Tracking

()

RESOLVED INVALID
Tracking Status
firefox53 --- affected

People

(Reporter: hani.yacoub, Unassigned)

References

Details

Attachments

(1 file)

Attached image permission.png
[Affected versions]: 
Nightly 53.0a1

[Affected platforms]:
All platforms: Ubuntu 15.4 x64, Windows 10 x 64, Mac OS X 10.11

[Steps to reproduce]:
1. Go to https://permission.site/ turn on the HTTPS and select Camera + Microphone.
2. Click on "Allow" button.
3. Click on "i" from the address bar.
4. Click on "X" near the Allow Temorarily from use the microphone.

[Expected result]:
1. The camera stops and a message "You may need to reload the page for changes to apply" is correctly displayed.
2. The status for Microphone is still displayed.

[Actual result]:
The status for Microphone is not displayed.

[Note]:
- It's also reproducible if you remove the permission from microphone.
- It's also reproducible if you check "Remember this decision" and then click allow.
- It's not reproducible if you check "Remember this decision" and then click don't allow.
Blocks: 1282768
This is the intended behavior: revoking camera or microphone permission revokes both at once; because usually if you started a video call and want to stop it, you want both streams to stop at once.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 3 years ago
Resolution: --- → INVALID
Florian, if user has Allow permission, but the call is not active any more(permission for Camera and Microphone are still Allow) and user click on "X" near the Allow from camera, then only the permission from Camera is removed and the permission from Microphone is still Allow. 

For consistency, should't be same behavior in these to scenarios?
Flags: needinfo?(florian)
(In reply to Brindusa Tot[:brindusat] from comment #2)
> Florian, if user has Allow permission, but the call is not active any
> more(permission for Camera and Microphone are still Allow) and user click on
> "X" near the Allow from camera, then only the permission from Camera is
> removed and the permission from Microphone is still Allow. 
> 
> For consistency, should't be same behavior in these to scenarios?

This would make sense yes, feel free to file a bug for it (note: I would give a very low priority to that bug).
Flags: needinfo?(florian)
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.