Open Bug 1555860 Opened 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago

Different FxA email account creation flow after delete account

Categories

(Cloud Services :: Server: Firefox Accounts, defect)

67 Branch
defect
Not set

Tracking

(firefox67.0.1 wontfix)

Tracking Status
firefox67.0.1 --- wontfix

People

(Reporter: rbillings, Unassigned)

References

(Blocks 1 open bug)

Details

Preconditions
To be able to see the about:welcome page on a version where this is not implemented please go to about:config and set:
identity.fxaccounts.autoconfig.uri to https://accounts.stage.mozaws.net
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.fxaccounts.endpoint to https://accounts.stage.mozaws.net

Restart the browser.

Affected versions
Tested on Release 67.0.1 (64-bit)

Affected platforms
Tested on MacOS 10.14.5

Steps to reproduce

Go to about:welcome page
Enter new email address.
Click "Continue".
Complete the fields.
Click "Create account"
Click on "Continue"
Open the email.
Click on verification email button.
Click on signed in user icon in the toolbar
Click on Manage Account
Click Delete Account
Enter password
Click Delete account [user is signed out and taken to create account page]
Enter a new email address/pw/age
Click "Create account"

Expected result:
Receive email titled "Finish Creating Your Account" with a "Confirm email" link, after clicking it user gets new Signed in messaging.

Actual result:
Creating first new account generates correct email, link and welcome. Creating account after account deletion sends "Verify Your Firefox Account" email with "Activate now" link, and clicking it takes the signed in user to the Manage Account page.

We should probably fix this, but it doesn't block the release.

The priority flag is not set for this bug.
:markh, could you have a look please?

For more information, please visit auto_nag documentation.

Flags: needinfo?(markh)

Sounds like a back-end issue.

Component: Firefox Accounts → Server: Firefox Accounts
Flags: needinfo?(markh)
Product: Firefox → Cloud Services

Click Delete account [user is signed out and taken to create account page]

So IIUC from the description, the expected result here is that the browser ends up signed in to Sync with the newly-created account? I'm not 100% sure that that's actually expected/desired behavior in all cases, and I suspect that some discussions we have around "signing in to the browser" at the all-hands may affect what desired behavior is in this case.

(In reply to Ryan Kelly [:rfkelly] from comment #4)

Click Delete account [user is signed out and taken to create account page]

So IIUC from the description, the expected result here is that the browser ends up signed in to Sync with the newly-created account? I'm not 100% sure that that's actually expected/desired behavior in all cases, and I suspect that some discussions we have around "signing in to the browser" at the all-hands may affect what desired behavior is in this case.

The expected result is that the user would have the same registration experience- the same email, the same initial landing page from the email and the same messaging.

You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.