Closed Bug 352579 Opened 15 years ago Closed 15 years ago

Incorrect time adjustement when importing Lotus Notes ics files

Categories

(Calendar :: Import and Export, defect)

x86
Linux
defect
Not set
normal

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED FIXED

People

(Reporter: doc.evans, Unassigned)

Details

User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686 (x86_64); en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686 (x86_64); en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6

This is a long-standing bug that used to be easy to work around (in Sunbird 0.2) by manually importing each event and changing the time during the importation process. This workaround seems no longer to be possible, so the bug should be fixed.

Importing .ics files for an event at XX o'clock in the Central time zone causes Sunbird to display the event as occurring at XX o'clock even though I am in the Mountain time zone.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Set time zone to Mountain
2. Import any Lotus Notes file containing an event in the Central Time Zone
3. Look at the display -- it will mark the event at the incorrect time

I would imagine that this is a generic bug and you can replace "Central" and "Mountain" with any two time zones, but I have tested with only those two zones.

Actual Results:  
Event appears one hour shifted from the correct time

Expected Results:  
Event should display at the correct time

Here is an example Lotus Notes .ics file that causes Sunbird 0.3a2 to display this behaviour -- it displays an event at 11:00 even on a Mountain time zone calendar:

BEGIN:VCALENDAR
X-LOTUS-CHARSET:UTF-8
VERSION:2.0
PRODID:-//Lotus Development Corporation//NONSGML Notes 7.0//EN
METHOD:REQUEST
BEGIN:VTIMEZONE
TZID:Central
BEGIN:STANDARD
DTSTART:19501029T020000
TZOFFSETFROM:-0500
TZOFFSETTO:-0600
RRULE:FREQ=YEARLY;BYMINUTE=0;BYHOUR=2;BYDAY=-1SU;BYMONTH=10
END:STANDARD
BEGIN:DAYLIGHT
DTSTART:19500402T020000
TZOFFSETFROM:-0600
TZOFFSETTO:-0500
RRULE:FREQ=YEARLY;BYMINUTE=0;BYHOUR=2;BYDAY=1SU;BYMONTH=4
END:DAYLIGHT
END:VTIMEZONE
BEGIN:VEVENT
DTSTART;TZID="Central":20060915T110000
DTEND;TZID="Central":20060915T123000
TRANSP:OPAQUE
DTSTAMP:20060913T190935Z
SEQUENCE:0
ATTENDEE;ROLE=CHAIR;PARTSTAT=ACCEPTED;CN="Tom Cloonan/Arris"
 ;RSVP=FALSE:mailto:Tom.Cloonan@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Ayham Al-Banna/Arris";RSVP=TRUE
 :mailto:Ayham.Al-Banna@ARRISI.COM
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Bill Hanks/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Bill.Hanks@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Brian Wheeler/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Brian.Wheeler@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Carl Daun/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Carl.Daun@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Carol Ansley/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Carol.Ansley@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Doc Evans/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:n7dr@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Dwain Frieh/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Dwain.Frieh@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Erich Arnold/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Erich.Arnold@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Greg Cyr/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Greg.Cyr@ARRISI.COM
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Ian Wheelock/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Ian.Wheelock@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Jeff Howe/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Jeff.Howe@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Lisa Nolan/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Lisa.Nolan@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Mark Bugajski/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Tom.Cloonan@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Max Robbins/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Max.Robbins@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Michael P Sullivan/Arris";RSVP=TRUE
 :mailto:Michael.P.Sullivan@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Randy Olenz/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Randy.Olenz@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Steve Sanders/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Steve.Sanders@ARRISI.COM
ATTENDEE;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Steven Krapp/Arris";RSVP=TRUE:mailto:Steven.Krapp@arrisi.com
ATTENDEE;CUTYPE=ROOM;ROLE=REQ-PARTICIPANT;PARTSTAT=NEEDS-ACTION
 ;CN="Board Room/CHI-Ogden";RSVP=TRUE
 :mailto:Board_Room/CHI-Ogden@hermes.arrisi.com
CLASS:PUBLIC
DESCRIPTION;ALTREP="CID:<FFFF__=09BBFB7BDFFA9EFE8f9e8a93df938@ARRISI.COM>":C
 TO Team Meeting\n800-531-3250\n2415092#\n\n
SUMMARY:CTO Team Meeting
LOCATION:Chicago
ORGANIZER;CN="Tom Cloonan/Arris";SENT-BY="mailto
 :Tom.Cloonan@arrisi.com":mailto:Tom.Cloonan@arrisi.com
UID:1F5AC120F3FD2B4A862571E80069186E-Lotus_Notes_Generated
X-LOTUS-BROADCAST:FALSE
X-LOTUS-UPDATE-SEQ:1
X-LOTUS-UPDATE-WISL:$S:1;$L:1;$B:1;$R:1;$E:1;$W:1;$O:1;$M:1
X-LOTUS-NOTESVERSION:2
X-LOTUS-NOTICETYPE:I
X-LOTUS-APPTTYPE:3
X-LOTUS-CHILD_UID:1F5AC120F3FD2B4A862571E80069186E
END:VEVENT
END:VCALENDAR
Can you test this with a nightly build?  We've taken a number of timezone related fixes since 0.3a2.
Keywords: qawanted
Example above works for me using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060915 Calendar/0.3a2+

The event is scheduled at 11:00 UTC-5 (CDT) and after import I see the event at 18:00 UTC+2 (CEST). I think this is correct.

(After restart the event is shown at 16:00 UTC+2 (CEST) due to bug 314339)

Doesn't older builds had a problem with timezones being defined as |Central| but being used as |"Central"|?
(In reply to comment #2)
> Example above works for me using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0;
> en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060915 Calendar/0.3a2+

Resolving FIXED; thanks for checking!

> Doesn't older builds had a problem with timezones being defined as |Central|
> but being used as |"Central"|?

Is that even valid ICS?
 

Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 15 years ago
Keywords: qawanted
Resolution: --- → FIXED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.