separate preferences for Clear Private Data command from automatic clear on exit prefs

VERIFIED FIXED

Status

()

Firefox
Preferences
VERIFIED FIXED
9 years ago
9 years ago

People

(Reporter: beltzner, Assigned: johnath)

Tracking

({verified1.9.1})

Trunk
verified1.9.1
Points:
---
Bug Flags:
in-litmus +

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: fixed by bug 453440)

When the Clear Private Data feature was introduced, users could choose to either invoke it on-demand using Tools > Clear Private Data or have data automatically cleared when the browser exited. The two invocation methods share a single set of preferences, though.

We should decouple the two commands from sharing a single set of preferences about what type of data is removed, as the requirements for on-demand private data removal are unlikely to be the same as those for on-exit remove. The former is used when a user wants fine-grained control over removing data, whereas the latter is used when a user wants certain data to always be removed.

The on-demand function should show the dialog (see bug 453440 comment 12 for design) with a time-range for history, and:
 - the state of checkboxes & dropdowns should be persisted for the next time the on-demand function is invoked,
 - the default state of these checkboxes & drop downs should no longer be tied to the "Settings" dialog in the Privacy prefpane

The automatic on-exit deletion of selected items should still be controlled by a preference in the Privacy prefpane, but the Settings dialog (sheet on OSX) should look like this:

 | When I quit %productName;, it should automatically  |
 | clear all:                                          | 
 |                                                     |
 | History --------------------------------------------|
 |                                                     |
 |  [x] Visited Pages       [ ] Cookies                |
 |  [x] Download List       [ ] Form & Search Entries  |
 |  [x] Web Cache                                      |
 |                                                     |
 | Data -----------------------------------------------|
 |  [ ] Saved Passwords     [ ] Offline Website Data   |
 |                                                     |
 |                                ( Cancel )  (( OK )) |
 '-----------------------------------------------------'
 - the persistence of these selections will not be tied to those of the Clear Private Data command
Whiteboard: to be fixed by bug 453440
(Assignee)

Comment 1

9 years ago
This is fixed by the current patch in bug 453440 as anticipated.  I'll mark this fixed once that lands.
Assignee: nobody → johnath
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED
Depends on: 453440
OS: Mac OS X → All
Hardware: PC → All
(Assignee)

Comment 2

9 years ago
As mentioned above, this is now fixed
Status: ASSIGNED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 9 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Whiteboard: to be fixed by bug 453440 → fixed by bug 453440
Flags: in-litmus?
https://litmus.mozilla.org/show_test.cgi?id=7467 added to Litmus. I also disabled an older Litmus test case (5966) that described the previous functionality.

verified fixed on the trunk using Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9.2a1pre) Gecko/20090116 Minefield/3.2a1pre.

verified fixed on the 1.9.1 branch using Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9.1b3pre) Gecko/20090116 Shiretoko/3.1b3pre
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Flags: in-litmus? → in-litmus+
Keywords: verified1.9.1
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.