Remove extra confirmation when joining a group

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

RESOLVED WONTFIX
10 years ago
7 years ago

People

(Reporter: Kensie, Unassigned)

Tracking

unspecified

Details

(Reporter)

Description

10 years ago
To join a group you currently have to click twice.

1. click on join link on group page/group list
2. you're taken to a confirmation page where you need to click join or cancel, click join
3. you're now a member of the group

It's hard to click a join link by mistake and it's easy to leave a group. We should remove step 2 entirely. We can edit the "you have joined" message to link to instructions on leaving a group if it was a mistake.

Comment 1

10 years ago
Currently there are two pages that allow to you to hit a button to confirm that you want to either join or be removed from a group and there are various links that allow you to get to these pages easily without any difficulty.

I would say nothing needs to be changed here.

Paul
(Reporter)

Comment 2

10 years ago
The problem is that you have to hit join on both pages. Users should only have to hit join once.

Comment 3

10 years ago
Hey there:  This seems like a hurdle that we don't need to put our users through.  If there is some reasoning behind it -- let us know :)

Comment 4

10 years ago
I don't see any problem you have two pages that need to be linked to if they are to be found easily. I guess instead of the link to the page saying "join group" it could say "go to a page to join this group" but i don't think this has caused any confusion.
(Reporter)

Comment 5

10 years ago
I think we've got some confusion about what I proposed in comment #0 let me
take another shot at explaining a bit more than I did in comment #2

What I'm referring to in this bug is when you click the hard coded join link on
a group page's sidebar. In this case it takes you to a confirmation page where
you have to make another click. In this case we feel that's unnecessary as the
user should know what they're trying to join.

We should definitely preserve the confirmation page functionality for join
links elsewhere, like links people leave in a comment where the result of
clicking the link is less clear.

Comment 6

10 years ago
We can't make this change without altering the OG module, so i would say we can't / shouldn't make this change.

I would still argue also its best not to make the change as the user experience feels more controlled if you have an intermediate "Are you sure.." page . You'll see these all over the place in Drupal when your joining or leaving something.

@Alex
Any thoughts on this ?

Comment 7

10 years ago
Agreed - Alex doesn't want any changes to modules or Drupal core right now unless absolutely necessary.  Let's slate this for Drupal migration!
Target Milestone: --- → 3.1

Comment 8

10 years ago
Is this something we still want to implement?

Best, Paul
(In reply to comment #8)
> Is this something we still want to implement?
> 
> Best, Paul

I agree it's bad user experience, but since we use OG, it's on them to clean this up.

Lucy/Paul, could one of you file this bug with the OG module on drupal.org please?

Marking this wontfix, as it would require changing the OG module.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 10 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
(Assignee)

Updated

7 years ago
Product: Websites → Websites Graveyard
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.