Closed Bug 495775 Opened 14 years ago Closed 14 years ago

Private browsing + "Show a blank page" opens tabs from last time

Categories

(Firefox :: Private Browsing, defect)

3.5 Branch
x86
Linux
defect
Not set
normal

Tracking

()

RESOLVED DUPLICATE of bug 482334

People

(Reporter: mcepl, Unassigned)

Details

User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; cs-cz) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko, Safari/528.5+) epiphany
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; cs-CZ; rv:1.9.1b4) Gecko/20090427 Fedora/3.5-0.20.beta4.fc11 Firefox/3.5b4

(originally filed as https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=502083)

Turning private browsing on and closing the browser causes subsequent runs of
the browser to automatically load the tabs that were open when private browsing
was turned on.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. rm -rf ~/.mozilla
2. Launch firefox
3. load some site in a tab
4. Open Preferences
5. in the "Main" preferences page:
      a. When firefox starts -> Show a blank page
      b. clear the "Home Page" entry
6. in the privacy preferences page
      a. choose "use custom settings for history"
      b. Check "Automatically start firefox in private browsing mode"
7. Close the preferences dialog
8. Quit firefox
9. Re-launch firefox
10. observe that it opens the tab that was there when you picked "Show a blank
page" in preferences



Additionally, the "Privacy" page's "Firefox will..." dropdown reverts to "Never
remember history" instead of "Custom settings for history"
(In reply to comment #0)
> Turning private browsing on and closing the browser causes subsequent runs of
> the browser to automatically load the tabs that were open when private browsing
> was turned on.

This is a dupe of bug 482334.

> Additionally, the "Privacy" page's "Firefox will..." dropdown reverts to "Never
> remember history" instead of "Custom settings for history"

If you don't change any settings inside the Custom pane and only select the "Automatically start firefox in private browsing mode" option, then it reverts to "Never remember to history" because that is in fact the setting which is being applied.  This behavior is by design.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 14 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Version: unspecified → 3.5 Branch
Duplicate of bug: 482334
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.