At start browser does not obey preferences' settings to "show my windows and tabs from the last time"

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 398817

Status

()

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 398817
8 years ago
8 years ago

People

(Reporter: drew.freyman, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Whiteboard: [session-store-testday])

(Reporter)

Description

8 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; rv:2.0b3pre) Gecko/20100730 Minefield/4.0b3pre
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; rv:2.0b3pre) Gecko/20100730 Minefield/4.0b3pre

After setting the preferences to "show my windows and tabs from the last time" when I start Minefield it loads a single, blank tab.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. set start up preferences for when Minefield starts to "show my windows and tabs from the last time"
2. open two tabs and browse to http://www.google.com/reader/view/?tab=Ny and https://mail.google.com/mail/?shva=1#inbox
3. shut down Minefield
4. restart Minefield

Actual Results:  
5. a single, blank tab appears

Expected Results:  
Two tabs, http://www.google.com/reader/view/?tab=Ny and https://mail.google.com/mail/?shva=1#inbox, should have opened.

It is similar to bug 523359.
(Reporter)

Comment 1

8 years ago
I was able to "enable" this feature by resetting my history settings by unticking the "Clear history when Minefield closes."  That totally makes sense.

However, should it possible to keep ONLY the history of the URLs open at the time of the last exit from Minefield while still choosing to clear the history of everything else?  I think this should be possible. I imagine myself as generally not wanting history to be maintained for most URLs from session to session, but being able to resume in the next session from the URLs in the previous session would be very useful.  I would just be sure to never finish a session on URLs that I did not want to be re-initiated when I started the browser the next time.  Maybe too complicated?

Comment 2

8 years ago
I can reproduce this behavior in 4Beta8, but I don't think the behavior should be changed -- if someone wants history cleared it should be cleared.

I think it would be better to disable the "restore last tabs" option when someone selects "clear history when close", and warn the user if they try to select conflicting settings.
Resolve WONT FIX?
Whiteboard: [session-store-testday]
(In reply to comment #2)
> I think it would be better to disable the "restore last tabs" option when
> someone selects "clear history when close", and warn the user if they try to
> select conflicting settings.

The confusion from these conflicting prefs is not new, but just hasn't been fixed :/ (bug 503564, bug 505548, maybe more)
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 8 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Duplicate of bug: 398817
Verified DUPE
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.