Delete doesn't delete the specified profile's directory.

VERIFIED FIXED in M11

Status

Core Graveyard
Profile: BackEnd
P3
normal
VERIFIED FIXED
19 years ago
2 years ago

People

(Reporter: bmartin, Assigned: racham)

Tracking

Trunk
x86
Windows 98

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

19 years ago
Latest Profile Manager (delivered 5/17/99)

1. Launch Apprunner on a clean system (delete Users50\, delete mozregistry.dat
prior to running apprunner.exe
2. Create a New profile.
3. Open a DOS box, go to the apprunner\ directory, type apprunner
-ProfileManager to launch the Profile Manager.
4. Select "New" and go through the Profile Creator to create at least one more
profile.
5. Re-open the DOS box, go to the apprunner\ directory, type apprunner
-ProfileManager to launch the Profile Manager.
6. Select an existing profile
7. Select "Delete" button
8. Proceed to delete the profile

Results:

The selected profile name is removed from the profile manager's pick list.

Expected:

I expected the selected profile's associated directory in Users50\ to be deleted
along with the name in the profile pick list.

Or, user should be prompted with a dialog that states that the directory and it
contents that are associated with this profile will not be deleted from
Users50\.

Comment 1

19 years ago
4.x didn't delete the directory either (unless 4.5, 4.51, or 4.6 did it.)  If we
are going to delete actual files, then we need to prompt the user first.
(Assignee)

Updated

19 years ago
Status: NEW → ASSIGNED
Target Milestone: M8
(Assignee)

Comment 2

19 years ago
Promtping user to delete directories like in 4.5 needs additional UI features be
available from the core services. Setting TFV to M8.
(Assignee)

Updated

19 years ago
Target Milestone: M8 → M9
(Assignee)

Comment 3

19 years ago
Eli has suggested that we move the deleted profiles into the recyle bin/Trash
allowing users to retrieve the data if the deletion is accidental. Need a
discussion on delete policy and also need to identify the way to move the
deleted dirs to recycle bin. For now, even though the profile is deleted the
information lives on the harddisk. Moving TFV to M9.
(Assignee)

Updated

19 years ago
Target Milestone: M9 → M10
(Assignee)

Comment 4

19 years ago
Calls for a new UI popup that displays all options like in 4.x (delete, delete
all files, cancel). If all new the UI changes (which at present are impeded
by widget implementation problems) done, the new delete implementation will be
taken care of. Will be done in the beginning of M10.

Comment 5

19 years ago
P3s aren't going to make it in M10.  Bulk moving to M11.

Updated

19 years ago
Blocks: 12696

Updated

19 years ago
Status: ASSIGNED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 19 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED

Comment 6

19 years ago
The delete confirm dialog now offers the option of deleting the profile contents
and I verified on Linux that it actually does so.

Updated

19 years ago
No longer blocks: 12696

Comment 7

19 years ago
user given option to delete/not delete-verified on windows and linux
build 19990908
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED

Updated

18 years ago
Component: Profile Manager → Profile Manager BackEnd

Comment 8

18 years ago
Moving all Profile Manager bugs to new Profile Manager Backend component.
Profile Manager component to be deleted.
Product: Core → Core Graveyard
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.