Follow-up to the discussion in bug 675818. The awesome bar lets you delete results with Delete or Shift+Delete, depending on platform. It will always remove the result from the popup regardless of which type it is, but the effects outside of the popup don't really make sense. As far as I can tell, this is the current behavior: * History results will have that page deleted from the history * Bookmark results will delete the bookmark's history, but the bookmark itself remains. The bookmark result will appear again on subsequent searches, but its position may have changed since last time due to a lack of history. * Switch to tab results do nothing upon deletion, and will appear again on subsequent searches * Keyword search results behave the same as switch to tab results I think the deletion behavior should be consistent in that you never again see the deleted item - it seems misleading to remove a result only for it to appear later. If we can't guarantee that, nothing should happen when you hit the delete key (and if bug 675818 is resolved, the delete button should be disabled). I think we should delete bookmarks when you press delete, but switch to tab and keyword search results cannot be deleted. That's clearly up for discussion, though.
(In reply to Andrew Hurle [:ahurle] from comment #0) > I think we should delete bookmarks when you press delete, but switch to tab > and keyword search results cannot be deleted. That's clearly up for > discussion, though. I've love to see deleting a switch-to-tab item result in closing the tab. Its too easy to accumulate tabs, but hard to clean them up. Typing into the urlbar, I often find tabs I forgot I had, and realise I don't need/want them open - closing them requires a context switch (go to tab, close it, go back to original tab).