Keep tracking even when the user revokes the Geolocation permission

RESOLVED WONTFIX

Status

defect
RESOLVED WONTFIX
5 years ago
5 years ago

People

(Reporter: ggp, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

5 years ago
What should happen when we're tracking, and whoever holds the device goes to the Settings app and revokes the geolocation permission? It looks like we should somehow keep tracking regardless of that.

Skimming through the Geolocation API code, I'm not sure what happens in that case. When the setting geolocation.enabled is set to false, we do stop servicing requests, so I'd expect the same to happen with the permission, a behavior Find My Device is not prepared to handle.

This came up during the review for bug 938901. Filing this now to investigate after that one is resolved.
(Reporter)

Updated

5 years ago
Depends on: 984849
We've figured this out.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 5 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.