Closed Bug 235741 Opened 17 years ago Closed 3 years ago

"Leave msgs on server until deleted" should not delete on pop server until trash is emptied

Categories

(Thunderbird :: Account Manager, enhancement)

enhancement
Not set
normal

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED WONTFIX

People

(Reporter: xolaware.llc, Unassigned)

References

(Depends on 1 open bug)

Details

User-Agent:       
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040206 Firefox/0.8

with junk mail controls turned on, every once in a while, a mail that is
legitimate will get marked for deletion & automatically moved to the trash.

with "Leave msgs on server until deleted" turned on, anything automatically
moved to the trash gets deleted on the server.

but if i am on my laptop (where i have both options turned on) and a mail i'm
truly interested in gets deleted, and i move it out of the trash, it's too late:
 the message has already been deleted from the server, and thus i can't then
download it to my desktop machine because it's already gone.

it would seem best to me if the mail were not actually touched on the server
until the trash is compacted.  this would allow the user the option to rectify
an inappropriately applied junk-mail-control deleion.

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1. in server settings for an account, turn on "Leave msgs on server until
deleted locally"
2. in junk mail controls, turn on "auto-delete msgs marked as junk"
3. on a separate machine, also have thunderbird set to the same account
4. get mail on the first machine, including some junk
5. for one of the mails marked as junk, unmark it as junk & move it out of trash
6. get mail for the same account on the second machine

Actual Results:  
mail marked as junk and then unmarked & untrashed does not get downloaded

Expected Results:  
mail should appear on second machine when mail download occurs
kicking up to all since this isn't a Mac specific issue.

Sorry for the spam :(
OS: MacOS X → All
Hardware: Macintosh → All
I am seeing the same behaviour using Thunderbird 1.0 or Mozilla 1.8, both on
Windows 2000.
This is because any mail moved out of the folder it has been saved to just after
downloading gets marked to delete from server. That's not good behavior IMHO.
This is an automated message, with ID "auto-resolve01".

This bug has had no comments for a long time. Statistically, we have found that
bug reports that have not been confirmed by a second user after three months are
highly unlikely to be the source of a fix to the code.

While your input is very important to us, our resources are limited and so we
are asking for your help in focussing our efforts. If you can still reproduce
this problem in the latest version of the product (see below for how to obtain a
copy) or, for feature requests, if it's not present in the latest version and
you still believe we should implement it, please visit the URL of this bug
(given at the top of this mail) and add a comment to that effect, giving more
reproduction information if you have it.

If it is not a problem any longer, you need take no action. If this bug is not
changed in any way in the next two weeks, it will be automatically resolved.
Thank you for your help in this matter.

The latest beta releases can be obtained from:
Firefox:     http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/
Thunderbird: http://www.mozilla.org/products/thunderbird/releases/1.5beta1.html
Seamonkey:   http://www.mozilla.org/projects/seamonkey/
this bug still exists, and is still reproducible, even with only one machine:

0. on macOS use a terminal window or on windows use a DOS prompt and replace
   <pop-server> with the pop-server from the server settings for the mail acct
   in question, and do the following:
   a] telnet <pop-server> 110
   b] at the prompt, enter "user <tbirdmailuser>"
   c] at the next prompt, enter "pass <tbirdmailpass>"
   d] at the next prompt, enter "list"
   note the number of msg
1. in server settings for an account, turn on "Leave msgs on server until
deleted locally"
2. get mail for the account
3. mark something as junk
4. don't compact folders, but simply get messages for account
5. repeat steps from step [0] ... notice that the count is lower now when it
   should not change until the folder is compacted.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
(In reply to comment #0)
> with junk mail controls turned on, every once in a while, a mail that is
> legitimate will get marked for deletion & automatically moved to the trash.
>
> with "Leave msgs on server until deleted" turned on, anything automatically
> moved to the trash gets deleted on the server.

I don't remember what this option looked like in 2004.  Recently, it was changed from "Until I delete or move the message" to "Until I delete the message" -- so the delete-on-server only occurs if the message is actually deleted.  Just being moved to the Junk folder, or to Trash, isn't sufficient.


> but if i am on my laptop (where i have both options turned on) and a mail i'm
> truly interested in gets deleted, and i move it out of the trash, it's too
> late:

If this happens frequently, then I'd say you shouldn't be using the "until I delete" option.


> it would seem best to me if the mail were not actually touched on the server
> until the trash is compacted.

I don't think this is feasible without rewriting the compaction code; it defeats the purpose of the option -- which is to discard the message before it's downloaded on the other server -- and it's only somewhat more reliable at ensuring the message is still available when you want it.

Recommend WontFix.
Severity: normal → enhancement
QA Contact: front-end
(In reply to comment #6)
> I don't remember what this option looked like in 2004.  Recently, it was
> changed from "Until I delete or move the message" to "Until I delete the
> message" -- so the delete-on-server only occurs if the message is actually
> deleted.  Just being moved to the Junk folder, or to Trash, isn't sufficient.

Maybe not quite so, as stated in bug 433388, which may eventually be dupe of this. I also tested on tb 2.0.0.14 and version 3.0a1 (2008050715) and the behavior is the same, 
'move to trash' = 'del from server' for "until i delete them"

Compacting may be a bit too much, but del *from trash* could do .. as bug 433388
Assignee: mscott → nobody
Component: Mail Window Front End → Account Manager
QA Contact: front-end → account-manager
Depends on: 47297
In some ways this is asking us to force pop to emulate imap.  Users who want that should use imap.
We're not going to tightly couple how a local non-Inbox pop folder behaves to how the pop Inbox is managed.

If I'm terribly wrong then hopefully some pop expert will disagree
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 3 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
Summary: "Leave msgs on server until deleted" should not delete on server until trash is compacted → "Leave msgs on server until deleted" should not delete on pop server until trash is emptied
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.