bookmark sidebar doesn't warn when deleting entire bookmark folder

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 208399

Status

()

VERIFIED DUPLICATE of bug 208399
14 years ago
12 years ago

People

(Reporter: bnortham, Unassigned)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Reporter)

Description

14 years ago
User-Agent:       Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040803 Firefox/0.9.3
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040803 Firefox/0.9.3

When one selects a folder in the bookmarks sidebar and presses the delete key,
the folder is immediately deleted.  As I navigate the sidebar with the keyboard
(including the home and end keys), I've on several occasions mistakenly deleted
entire bookmarks folders.  It would be nice to have a dialog display with a
warning "Are you sure you want to delete the entire *Name* bookmark folder?" 
yes/no.  Perhaps a "Don't warn me about this" checkbox would be desireable as
well for users who don't want the distraction.

Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1.  Open bookmarks sidebar
2.  Select an unexpanded bookmarks folder
3.  Press the Delete key on the keyboard

Actual Results:  
The folder was deleted

Expected Results:  
A warning dialog asking if I meant to delete the entire folder
Assignee: vladimir → vladimir+bm

*** This bug has been marked as a duplicate of 208399 ***
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Last Resolved: 14 years ago
Resolution: --- → DUPLICATE
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
Assignee: vladimir+bm → nobody
sorry for bugspam, long-overdue mass reassign of ancient QA contact bugs, filter on "beltznerLovesGoats" to get rid of this mass change
QA Contact: mconnor → bookmarks
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.