Closed
Bug 323068
Opened 20 years ago
Closed 18 years ago
mail is deleted when highlighting text to be deleted when forwarding.
Categories
(Thunderbird :: General, defect)
Tracking
(Not tracked)
RESOLVED
WORKSFORME
People
(Reporter: swampcat, Assigned: mscott)
References
Details
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
Build Identifier: Mozilla Thunderbird 1.0.7 (20050923)
When I choose to forward a message, I click in message pane, drag mouse to highlite lines to be deleted from header and hit the "Delete" key. The entire message is deleted instead and I can't recover the message to try again. This same action works with OutLook Express just fine. Thanks
Reproducible: Always
Steps to Reproduce:
1.click on "Forward" and maximize pane
2.Click in message pane and highlite text to be deleted
3.Hit "Delete" key
Actual Results:
Entire message is deleted and unrecoverable
Expected Results:
Highlited text deleted and an edited message is ready to mail
Can't think of any thing extra. But you can duplicate this in OutLook Express by simply following the steps outlined above
Comment 1•20 years ago
|
||
This bug report doesn't make sense to me. It *sounds* like you selected text
in the message-display pane, rather than the message-compose pane, and then clicked Delete -- which does, indeed, delete the original message, but not unrecoverably; it should be in the Trash folder.
If you selected text in the message-compose pane, Delete should delete only the selection.
| Reporter | ||
Comment 2•20 years ago
|
||
It may not make sense but that's the way it happens. I have used this routine in OutLook Express for years and it's not a new procedure for me. Now, if you use an application such as MS PictureIt, The procedure works flawlessly. That app automatically inserts text into each message and it can be deleted in the forementioned fashion. But as I said before, if it is a message being forwarded, that's where the problem exists. As for the trash recovery of such deleted messages, not so in this case. I looked there first. Messages are gone and I don't have the software to drop the flags on deleted tracks. Thanks, Rex.
Comment 3•20 years ago
|
||
Well, I've tried, but I can't reproduce it. I'm assuming we're talking Forward Inline, not Forward As Attachment.
What exactly is meant by "maximize pane"?
When you say "Entire message is deleted and unrecoverable" do you mean the message you were composing or the original message you were forwarding?
Is the original message HTML or plain text? Is the compose window (containing the forwarded message) HTML or plain text?
| Reporter | ||
Comment 4•20 years ago
|
||
Ok, here's the procedure I have always used. I recieve a message from you. It may or may not have an attachment and this isn't an issue since it works the same way regardless. I decide I want to forward it to someone else and I want to delete extraneous text which is not important to the other party. I click on "Forward" in the original message. This opens a new message containing the original and at that point, I maximize the new message. This also maximizes the message pane and exposes all of the text. Now I tab down into the message pane. The cursor is blinking in the top left corner. I click and hold the left mouse button and mouse over all of the text that is to be deleted. The text is now blue. I hit the "Delete" key and all of that text is deleted but it leaves everything else unchanged. Normaly at this point I can now forward an edited message. As you referenced, some text can "Backspaced" out much easier because of the formating. I installed from disk and other than that, I really like it.
*** Bug 332145 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***
Comment 6•19 years ago
|
||
I will support that this is a serious problem as my Boss just nearly strangulated me after she thought she lost a important letter by this procedure. :-)
Situation:
TB is set up to forward messages as file, the attached message is double clicked to open the forwarded attachment. In the users mind she is still working inside the forwarded message: If Delete is now pressed the ORIGINAL mail is deleted from the folder from where we started the forwarding procedure. If the delete key is to have any function at all in this situation, it should only remove the attachment from the forwarded message.
Related to this I think it is wrong that hitting the delete key when a mail is opened in full view will trash the message.
Please consider disabling the Delete key in all other panels than the main window!
Apart from that Outlook users are accustomed to be able to edit forwarded messages - so I support the poster of bug 332145 above.
Comment 7•18 years ago
|
||
The only way I see a message deleted is as described in comment 1.
I don't see comment 0 or comment 6. Also don't see bug 332145.
=> WFM
version 3.0a1pre (2008011304)
Status: UNCONFIRMED → RESOLVED
Closed: 18 years ago
Resolution: --- → WORKSFORME
Comment 8•18 years ago
|
||
(In reply to comment #7)
> I don't see comment 0 or comment 6. Also don't see bug 332145.
I'v just downloaded and tested version 3.0a1pre (2008022403). I do not see any improvement in this non-intuitive behaviour.
To recap:
1: Select a mail in Inbox in TB main window
2: forward as attachment
3 [review]: In the editor window for the forwarded mail, double click on the attached letter
- The forwarded letter pops up in foreground
4: press delete
- Now the original letter is moved from Inbox to Trash and the contents from the next letter is show in foreground.
> => WFM
While this may work for some, I find it very confusing. I know that user migrating from other MUAs are expecting to be able to edit forwarded content.
Comment 9•18 years ago
|
||
Hmm... Please disregard the above links "attachment 3 [details] [diff] [review]" dont know how they came in to my posting.
Comment 10•18 years ago
|
||
I have also experienced losing a message while forwarding while I attempted to delete some text. I cannot understand why this obvious bug has never been fixed. Sometimes when I receive an email there is a long list of email addresses of other receivers and senders of the message. In an attempt to remove all these addresses so they could not be intercepted by someone with malicious intent I tried highlighted all these addresses and pressed the delete key. As mentioned above the entire message disappeared. I do not recall looking in the trash folder for it. This problem should be fixed immediately as it undoubtedly discourages people from using TB as well as facilitates spammers and identity thieves from finding new email addresses. Also it can clean up forwarded emails as well as remove confidential information. The bug is listed as "severe" but has not been fixed for 2 years!
Comment 11•18 years ago
|
||
comment 8 and comment 10 don't sound like reporter's steps in comment 0. In which case, please file a new bug, so that each distinct bug can be evaluated separately. Especially important, list "steps to reproduce" as described at http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Bug_writing_guidelines#Reporting_a_New_Bug
You need to log in
before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description
•