Closed
Bug 868099
Opened 13 years ago
Closed 13 years ago
Go over sync flyout and signup language
Categories
(Firefox for Metro Graveyard :: Sync, defect)
Tracking
(Not tracked)
RESOLVED
FIXED
Firefox 23
People
(Reporter: jimm, Assigned: jimm)
References
Details
Attachments
(4 files)
Spun off from bug 867201. Will attach some screen shots.
(In reply to Richard Newman [:rnewman] from comment #13)
> Comment on attachment 744700 [details]
> [Mockup] Disconnect sync
>
> Minor nit: "from", not "with".
>
> The warning is good (and accurate), but it's almost reassuring a user into
> thinking that this is a reversible action, when it's absolutely not.
>
> To continue your point about symmetry: a user expects that when they hit
> "disconnect", the button then turns into "connect".
>
> Disconnecting is something users do on a regular basis -- wifi networks,
> chat clients, Xbox Live, etc. It's perhaps even weaker than "sign out",
> because that has the implication of a cleared sign-in box for someone else
> to type into.
>
> Removing your device from a Sync account is a potentially unrecoverable
> action, and there's no one-click "reconnect" concept (and shouldn't be; so
> much state must be discarded that it's not possible to resume where we left
> off).
>
> The only way to recover is to set up Sync again, and go through the whole
> first sync rigamarole. Assuming you have access to another device...
>
> A user who's traveling might want to temporarily disconnect because of
> bandwidth concerns, read this reassuring statement about how safe all their
> data will be in the mean time, and end up costing themselves a hundred bucks
> in roaming charges to set up Sync again.
>
> (Quite apart from the concern that their Sync data will probably be gone by
> the time they come back...)
>
> I understand that symmetry is important, but I argue that either it's worth
> breaking in this case (because the user actions aren't symmetric: connect
> once, disconnect never), or you should fix the setup flow to use other
> language like "Add this device to my Sync account", "Configure", "Start
> using", "Set up", with corresponding 'stop' language like "Stop using Sync
> on this device", "Unlink this device", "Permanently disconnect", etc.
>
>
> And our confirmation dialog should include language that clarifies what's
> going to happen: "Your browser data on this device will remain intact, but
> you will no longer be able to sync with this Sync account. You cannot undo
> this action."
| Assignee | ||
Comment 1•13 years ago
|
||
| Assignee | ||
Comment 2•13 years ago
|
||
| Assignee | ||
Comment 3•13 years ago
|
||
| Assignee | ||
Comment 4•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #1)
> Created attachment 744746 [details]
> connect
On this one, it sounds like we should do away with "connect" and replace it with something like "Add device".
| Assignee | ||
Comment 5•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #2)
> Created attachment 744747 [details]
> signup
On this one, looks like the only change would be the title - from "Connect to Sync" to something else. rnewman suggests:
Configure Sync
Start Using Sync
Set up Sync
| Assignee | ||
Comment 6•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #3)
> Created attachment 744748 [details]
> connected
On this one, the "Connected" label needs to go. I think we could just get rid of this string entirely. When the browser first boots or you sign up, this will briefly change to "Connecting...". After that, we could leave the label blank.
The "Disconnect" button also needs to change. rnewman suggests:
Unlink this device
Stop using Sync on this device
Permanently disconnect
bug 868094 covers adding a confirmation prompt before invoking the action.
| Assignee | ||
Comment 7•13 years ago
|
||
As soon as we have consensus I'll update the strings.
Assignee: nobody → jmathies
Comment 8•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #6)
> On this one, the "Connected" label needs to go. I think we could just get
> rid of this string entirely. When the browser first boots or you sign up,
> this will briefly change to "Connecting...". After that, we could leave the
> label blank.
Sync used to have a concept of login/logout, which we removed (from UI) in Bug 590763; there's now no concept of being connected or logged in, because we do all of that work on each sync anyway. Perhaps this UI is a holdover from that era?
You might still need some UI to indicate bad credentials.
| Assignee | ||
Comment 9•13 years ago
|
||
I'm not sure what we do for errors. Ally?
Comment 10•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #4)
> (In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #1)
> > Created attachment 744746 [details]
> > connect
>
> On this one, it sounds like we should do away with "connect" and replace it
> with something like "Add device".
We should just use "Set up Sync" as the label. It's the same with desktop and android.
And remove "Not connected". But add strings: "Access your bookmarks, passwords, and open tabs across your devices".
May use this mockup for reference: http://cl.ly/image/3A0m1n0o103C
Comment 11•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #5)
> (In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #2)
> > Created attachment 744747 [details]
> > signup
>
> On this one, looks like the only change would be the title - from "Connect
> to Sync" to something else. rnewman suggests:
>
> Configure Sync
> Start Using Sync
> Set up Sync
Let's use "Set up Sync" as the title.
Comment 12•13 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #6)
> (In reply to Jim Mathies [:jimm] from comment #3)
> > Created attachment 744748 [details]
> > connected
>
> On this one, the "Connected" label needs to go. I think we could just get
> rid of this string entirely. When the browser first boots or you sign up,
> this will briefly change to "Connecting...". After that, we could leave the
> label blank.
>
> The "Disconnect" button also needs to change. rnewman suggests:
>
> Unlink this device
> Stop using Sync on this device
> Permanently disconnect
>
> bug 868094 covers adding a confirmation prompt before invoking the action.
Remove "Connected" string.
Since Richard suggests to do away with "Connect" and "Disconnect". I think use "Add" for adding a device to Sync is the most accurate word. In symmetric, "Remove" is probably a better word than "Unlink", or "Stop". Also, "Remove" is used on Firefox Android.
So I propose we use "Remove this device" here.
| Assignee | ||
Comment 13•13 years ago
|
||
| Assignee | ||
Comment 14•13 years ago
|
||
Comment on attachment 744888 [details] [diff] [review]
patch
easy peezy string changes.
Attachment #744888 -
Flags: review?(mbrubeck)
Comment 15•13 years ago
|
||
Related to this,
I filed a related bug for layout adjustment: Bug 868217.
Updated•13 years ago
|
Attachment #744888 -
Flags: review?(mbrubeck) → review+
Comment 16•13 years ago
|
||
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
Target Milestone: --- → Firefox 23
Updated•12 years ago
|
OS: Windows 8 Metro → Windows 8.1
You need to log in
before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description
•