allow to only remove mail account data without the account itself

NEW
Assigned to

Status

--
enhancement
2 years ago
a year ago

People

(Reporter: aceman, Assigned: aceman)

Tracking

Firefox Tracking Flags

(Not tracked)

Details

(Assignee)

Description

2 years ago
+++ This bug was initially created as a clone of Bug #274452 comment 51 +++

When an account is deleted in Thunderbird, we ask the user whether to delete the local account data together with the account itself.

It struck me now that there could be a use case for the user to actually uncheck "delete account" and only check "delete messages". In that case we could just wipe the data folder (local directory) and at next restart (or msg fetch) TB will recreate it and download messages anew. This could be useful for debugging (no need to recreate accounts) and e.g. for IMAP accounts accumulating junk (e.g. folders that grow and can't be purged/compacted).

Updated

a year ago
Duplicate of this bug: 805865

Updated

a year ago
Duplicate of this bug: 553166
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.