Clear site data when the cookie banner feature is disabled for a site
Categories
(Core :: Privacy: Anti-Tracking, enhancement, P2)
Tracking
()
People
(Reporter: emz, Unassigned)
References
Details
Attachments
(1 file)
|
70.18 KB,
image/png
|
Details |
Bug 1795041 adds a toggle to the protection panel that allows users to disable the feature per-site.
When they disable the feature we can show a prompt asking whether they want to clear data for the current site. This will re-show the banner and allow them to set their own preferences.
| Reporter | ||
Comment 1•3 years ago
|
||
Is this in-scope for your UI work? I think clearing data makes sense, given we warn the user.
Comment 2•3 years ago
|
||
Yeah, clearing all cookies is in scope via the "turn off for this site" subview, see screenshot and see the figma[1] for more details.
Comment 3•3 years ago
|
||
here's the screenshot showing the "turn off?" button. we'll plan to clear cookies if this is clicked.
| Reporter | ||
Comment 4•3 years ago
|
||
(In reply to Jared Hirsch [:jhirsch] (he/him) (Needinfo please) from comment #3)
Created attachment 9304174 [details]
"turn off for site" screenshothere's the screenshot showing the "turn off?" button. we'll plan to clear cookies if this is clicked.
We should consider showing another warning dialog about clearing site data. I'm worried that users will only read the first sentence/ button and then get logged out when they don't expect it. We can follow the flow we have for clearing site data via the identity panel. That shows a separate confirmation prompt.
Updated•3 years ago
|
| Reporter | ||
Updated•3 years ago
|
| Reporter | ||
Updated•3 years ago
|
Comment 5•3 years ago
|
||
Duping this to 1800670, which will implement the "clear site data" behavior mentioned in the description.
Description
•