Closed Bug 516560 Opened 12 years ago Closed 9 years ago

[autoconfiguration] automatic mail account setup wizard: hitting cancel while creating an account still creates the account

Categories

(Thunderbird :: Account Manager, defect)

defect
Not set
normal

Tracking

(Not tracked)

RESOLVED WONTFIX

People

(Reporter: brandt24, Unassigned)

References

Details

User-Agent:       Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9.1.4pre) Gecko/20090913 Shredder/3.0b4pre

Canceling the account creation wizard still creates the account provided there is enough information.

Reproducible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Start the incredibly stupidly hidden New Mail Account Setup wizard.
2. Fill in the name, the email address and the password. Tick to remember the password.
3. Click on Continue.
4. Let the wizzrd start it's magic and then click on Stop.
5. Click on Manual Setup.
6. A new windows opens.
7. Click on Cancel.
8. Both windows are closed down.
Actual Results:  
You will end up with a half-baked account in your program.

Expected Results:  
Nothing should have been created as I clicked Cancel.
Version: unspecified → 3.0
Summary: automatic mail account setup wizard: hitting cancel while creating an account still creates the account → [autoconfiguration] automatic mail account setup wizard: hitting cancel while creating an account still creates the account
Flags: blocking-thunderbird3?
(In reply to comment #0)
> Build Identifier: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US;
> rv:1.9.1.4pre) Gecko/20090913 Shredder/3.0b4pre

That is a relatively old build id, and there have been updates to autoconfig since then, could you try a more recent build please.
Keywords: qawanted
> 5. Click on Manual Setup.
> 6. A new windows opens.
> 7. Click on Cancel.

Oh actually I see what you've done. Clicking on Manual set up creates the account (because that's what Account Manager requires), clicking cancel would then ignore any changes you'd done between the manual set up and clicking cancel, still leaving the account in there.

Whilst users would then have to work out how to remove/or alter the account, I'm not sure I'd block TB 3 on that, especially given the rather large amount of work I'd expect it to take to rework that process, and the likelihood that this isn't going to be a common route for users.
Status: UNCONFIRMED → NEW
Ever confirmed: true
Exactly, we had to do this because you couldn't edit the advanced settings of an account without it actually there.  I don't think we can block on making a temp account of sorts for the manual setup at this point in our release cycle.  It could be good in a future release to offer a dialog on cancel that allows someone to remove the account; at least as a bandaid.
Flags: blocking-thunderbird3? → blocking-thunderbird3-
Keywords: qawanted
Isn't this against design guidelines that MS has provided? Not that these are mandatory, I guess, but it just seems so off to have an action performed even though you clicked cancel.
Yes, what we have is not ideal, but we are constrained by the limits of the current application.  The only options I see are to offer dialogs that try to warn you that you'll be creating the account or warn you that the account was created and you aren't actually "canceling".  Otherwise if we were to stay strict to the ( Cancel ) button we would have to remove the ( Manual Setup ) option altogether from the account setup.

What we have now is a compromise that people who want manual mode have to endure this hazard that comes with that.  Despite the account being unexpectedly created it can easily be removed.

I'm adding the relnote keyword here as I think it would make sense to include this in the release notes (if it isn't already) so others can find this answer easily.
Keywords: relnote
OS: Windows Vista → All
Hardware: x86 → All
Version: 3.0 → Trunk
Another discovery of a similar sort was when I just did a clean install of TB and started to experiment with different options for the toolbar (the default of which I find an absolute UI nightmare and a misrable failure).
I wasn't happy with what I had created for myself, so I simply decided to click on X and close the window without expecting any of my tweaks to be saved. Well, this was not the case. Luckily there's the Restore default set button ;). So this is a program-wide thing? No matter what you do it gets saved immediately?
(In reply to comment #6)
I'm sorry but you're going off topic of this bug.  If you want to continue this discussion in the newsgroups we can do that.  Thanks :)
You're right. My apologies.
Duplicate of this bug: 524679
Blocks: autoconfig
Duplicate of this bug: 579753
Adding rebron for the relnote.
Removing relnote keyword from bugs that are no longer significant or not needing to be mentioned in the release notes.
Keywords: relnote
The wizard changed a lot since the bug was filed. Specifically, there is now a new "Manual Setup", which is entirely different.
There is now a button called "Advanced Setup" which exposes the problem mentioned here. But comment 5 is correct in that we have technical limitations here and have to create the account. Given that the button is called "Advanced", only advanced users are supposed to use it, and if he really doesn't need the account, he can trivially remove it in the very same dialog again, so this bug isn't serious enough to warrant the significant work to fix it.
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 9 years ago
Resolution: --- → WONTFIX
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.