Closed Bug 526569 Opened 13 years ago Closed 13 years ago

need a way to wipe local/remote in UI

Categories

(Firefox :: Sync, defect)

defect
Not set
normal

Tracking

()

VERIFIED FIXED
1.0 beta1

People

(Reporter: mconnor, Assigned: mconnor)

References

Details

Attachments

(1 file, 1 obsolete file)

Need to figure out a way of exposing this in a simple way.
Flags: blocking-weave1.0+
Attached patch wip (obsolete) — Splinter Review
This is working and usable on all platforms.

Needs:
* l10n cleanup
* per-platform styling tweaks (can probably wait until after beta1 ships)
Attached patch wip 2Splinter Review
Attachment #411895 - Attachment is obsolete: true
http://hg.mozilla.org/labs/weave/rev/81ad91af321c
landed, please file followups for any tweaks/changes
Status: NEW → RESOLVED
Closed: 13 years ago
Resolution: --- → FIXED
verified with Weave 1.0b1
Status: RESOLVED → VERIFIED
I don't see it. Where's the UI? A screen-shot might be useful.

I'm using Weave 1.0b1 (just now updated) and ...

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.3a1pre) Gecko/20091112 Minefield/3.7a1pre (.NET CLR 3.5.30729) Creative ZENcast v1.02.10
Oh: "Platform: x86 Mac OS X"

Is this only fixed on the Mac? Why? Does Windows need a separate bug?

BTW: The "Start Over" option is kinda vague. What does it mean? Will the sever data be deleted, or will my whole account be deleted and I have to *completely* "start over"?
This is fixed on all platforms. The UI is only shown when setting up a new account to let you either wipe out the local data and just pull from the cloud or wipe out other computers.

What are you trying to do? Did you just want to wipe the server to clear out data?
"Start Over" flow leads to three choices of wipe/clean sync.
It would be MUCH better if the UI were always accessible.

I routinely want control over the direction of syncing. Often I will want to wipe the server, to then "copy" my local setting to the server; and then, on another PC, I want to wipe the local PC to then "copy" my cloud data to the PC.

I need to do this because I have several PC and some of them contain some data I don't want on the others (e.g., work vs. personal) (but most bookmarks overlap all PCs - so I use a single account). This situation would be largely mitigated if bug 436259 were fixed.
(In reply to comment #8)
> "Start Over" flow leads to three choices of wipe/clean sync.

The previous UI was much better and clearer. This one is poorly worded, way too undiscoverable, too cumbersome (forced to re-enter UN + 2x PW), and has super-scary language ("WARNING: Data on other devices will be deleted").

I'm pretty sure nobody is going to find or like this new UI.

Please bring back something more clear and efficient, like:

  Direction of Synchronization:

    (o) Local <--> Cloud (default)
    ( ) Local  --> Cloud
    ( ) Local <--  Cloud

    [ Synchronize Now ]

And THEN bring up a confirmation dialog explaining the consequences in non-scary (but still clear) language. Tool-tips for the three choices would also be a big help.
(In reply to comment #10)
>   Direction of Synchronization:
>     (o) Local <--> Cloud (default)
>     ( ) Local  --> Cloud
>     ( ) Local <--  Cloud
Do you expect the direction of sync to stay that way or just do it one time? Also, what does each of those 3 mean to you?
OS: Mac OS X → All
Hardware: x86 → All
(In reply to comment #11)
> (In reply to comment #10)
> >     (o) Local <--> Cloud (default)
> >     ( ) Local  --> Cloud
> >     ( ) Local <--  Cloud
> Do you expect the direction of sync to stay that way or just do it one time?

Not sure. It probably should always revert back to #1 (<-->) (with a hidden pref to make it stick for those few who might want that -> add-on fodder?).

> Also, what does each of those 3 mean to you?

#1 is sync'ing. The other two are "replace". The wording (and layout?) should probably reflect that.
Blocks: 563989
Component: Firefox Sync: UI → Sync
Product: Cloud Services → Firefox
You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.